Sampanseo Historic House earned its name from the fact it served as the home of three “Panseo” government ministers in succession between the end of the Goryeo Dynasty to the beginning of the Joseon Dynasty.
- Address : 56-1, Seonbi-ro 181beon-gil, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
- Inquiries : 054)631-0444
Sampanseo Historic House earned its name from the fact it served as the home of three “Panseo” government ministers in succession between the end of the Goryeo Dynasty to the beginning of the Joseon Dynasty. The first occupant of the House was Jeong Un-gyeong (1305~1366 AD), the Minister of Justice during the reign of King Gongmin of Goryeo. Jeong Un-gyeong passed down the House to Hwang Yu-jeong (1343 AD~unknown), the Minister of Commerce, who in turn bequeathed it to his son-in-law, Kim So-ryang (1384~1449 AD), the county Governor. Kim So-ryang's son Kim Dam (1416~1464 AD) was appointed as the Minister of Public Administration. Thereafter, the descendants of Kim Dam continued to live in the House. Sampanseo Historic House was not only home to the three ministers, but also Jeong Do-jeon, a prime contributor to the founding of Joseon, Hwang Jeon who served at the Saheonbu, Kim Jeong, a scholar at the Jiphyeonjeon Royal Library, and a number of other scholars and renowned officials. It was also famous for serving as a venue where scholars from all over the country would meet and share their knowledge and learnings.
Sampanseo Historic House, which stood for hundreds of years as a landmark of Yeongju’s scholastic roots just south of Guseong Park, sustained severe damage during the great flood of 1961. It was dismantled and restored in October 2008 inside Guhak Park, which overlooks the Seocheon River. Today, it stands as a symbol and landmark of Yeongju, the city of scholars.